Day 1 — Off to a slow start

Tasked with making matching nightgowns for granddaughter Madi and her newly discovered doll, i waited, as usual, till the last minute. Madi’s gown went together well, but my sewing machine was determined to devour the doll’s. Or maybe it was just that I again didn’t get it threaded correctly. Anyway, I got the gown loose and finished it this morning, so I didn’t set out until 10ish.

The drive through southern Arizona and New Mexico is pretty flat, not much to see: Lots of yuccas, lots of scrubby stuff. I stopped for a break in Lordsburg at Kranberry’s, where I found this cool stained glass piece:

Stained glass at Kranberrys - Lordsburg NM

Caught in stained glass at Kranberry’s in Lordsburg, NM: A miner, his donkey and his burger.

After passing through Deming, I turned north at Las Cruces, headed for Alamogordo. Along the way I took a quick look at White Sands:

Yuccas in the White Sands

Almost flat, these yuccas kiss the white sands.

Ripples in the sand at White Sands

Ripples in the sand at White Sands

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
