Day 2 – A car very full of glass

From Parkersburg today I started out along the Ohio River to Paden City and the Wissmach Glass Co., www.wissmachglass.com/.  Thanks to Carl, retired after 38 years but back working half-time, I saw how sheets of glass are made. Founded in 1904, the people pouring the sheets used carts that looked like they were original. Unfortunately,  I didn’t take any photos.

Wissmach is now making not only stained glass but also fusing glass, both in COE 90 (same as Bullseye, a much larger manufacturer) and COE 96 (same as Spectrum, which I mainly use). Wissmach sells “scrap” from the manufacturing process for $1.00 a pound. So, now I have the back seat full of glass pieces — to go with the trunk full of fused pieces.

From Paden City I drove through Wheeling and then worked my way across Ohio to Rossford, a southern suburb of Toledo. The leaves along the way are in the process of turning:

Ohio fall

Changing leaves in Ohio

Waiting for a road repair crew, I found these clouds interesting:

Ohio sky

Ohio sky

Tomorrow I’m looking forward to the Toledo Museum of Art and its collection of glass.

Comments are closed.
