Day 9 – Santa Fe Glass

After an interesting chat over breakfast with some folks involved with a small western museum, I got on the road to Santa Fe. Somehow I missed the famous Cadillacs upended in a field. I did see lots and lots of modern windmills just west of Amarillo.

The trip to Santa Fe went pretty quickly, for a change. After checking in with Judy, I took off for the Museum of New Mexico. The collection was quite cool — and mostly fused (with some cast) glass:

Toots Zynsky

Toots Zynsky, filet de verre piece “Spuntare,”  2011

Carmen Vetter, The Ties That Bind from 2009

Carmen Vetter, The Ties That Bind, 2009

Besides the amazing glass, I ran quickly through the rest of the museum and found some pieces that I hadn’t seen before but that I liked a lot:

Painting by Georgia O'Keefe in Museum of New Mexico

Painting by Georgia O’Keefe in Museum of New Mexico

Luis Tapia, Chima Altar, Bertram's Cruise - Museum of NM

Luis Tapia, Chima Altar, Bertram’s Cruise – Museum of New Mexico

After the museum, I visited Blue Rain, David Richard and a couple of other galleries with glass, then back to Judy’s.

Comments are closed.
