Day 9 – Home again

Saturday, August 9, 2014: All the SEATAC hotels seemed to be booked for last night, but Ramada had a room and airport transportation, so that’s where I landed.
At 4 a.m. a giant alarm went off, with flashing red lights. I stumbled up to get dressed, thinking it was a fire alarm. At some point I realized it was the hotel alarm clock plus, apparently, a wake-up call. I had set my own alarm for 7, so I was less than pleased to be awakened like this.

Breakfast was extra, so I decided to grab something at the airport. Cost was more or less reasonable, especially after the clerk gave me the AAA rate when I checked out (I let him know about the unwanted wake-up call. When I made the reservation, I was told that there were no more rooms at this rate…).

I was glad I’d gotten to the airport quite a bit early. Alaska Air at SEATAC was a zoo, reminiscent of Southwest Airlines in Phoenix (where the cousin of a friend missed her flight because of the ridiculously long lines). At SEATAC you check in / drop luggage in the main terminal, then ride a train to the gate. This all takes a little time, especially if the lines are long, people are confused about what’s going on and some printers aren’t working.

On the way to the gate, I found some more glass, huge, HUGE installations:

Window at SEATAC
Window in blues at SEATAC
Back in Tucson, it was just hot. I ran some errands late in the afternoon — my car said it was 100 degrees at 5:45 p.m.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
