Richmond / Side trip to Corning, New York – September 20, 2014

After a long, somewhat delay-filled flight from Tucson to Richmond and a long wait at the Dollar counter at the Richmond airport, I got to my daughter’s about midnight.
Saturday my friend Carolyn and I took off for Corning, New York, and the Corning Museum of Glass. But first, I had to turn in my work for Gallery at the First Unitarian Universalist Church of Richmond. The show will open Wednesday, Sept. 24.
We got off to not-the-earliest of starts. I drove, since I rented the car. Adding a driver would have almost doubled the cost.
We stopped around 2 in Thurmont, Maryland, for lunch at Fitzgeralds’ Shamrock Restaurant, which happens to have all kinds of glass with Irish symbols–
hanging stained glass lamps
Shamrock stained glass hanging light, Shamrock Restaurant, Thurmont, MD
small Tiffany-style lamps
Small Tiffany lamp, Shamrock Restaurant, Thurmont, MD
stained glass window pieces
Stained glass piece at Shamrock Restaurant
and fused glass
Fused glass plate in the window of the Shamrock Restaurant.
We got all the way to Corning that day, about a seven-hour drive. However, it was after dark and it turned out that all the motels in the area were sold out. Thanks to one kind desk clerk, we ended up at the EconoLodge in Painted Post, just outside Corning. It worked well — less expensive than many of the Corning hotels and just about as convenient.

Comments are closed.
