Germany – Stuttgart, Plüderhausen, Schorndorf, Heilbronn, October 12-14

Monday: Sylvie, who prefers biking and hiking to cities, suffered through a day of shopping in Schorndorf. It was fun for me to see what’s different in Germany, the colors and styles, etc., and just to see the cool things that we don’t have (and couldn’t afford anyway).

Stained glass window in a 2nd hand store in Schorndorf, Germany

Stained glass window in a 2nd hand store in Schorndorf, Germany


Sylvia in Schorndorf, showing off her new necklace

Sylvia in Schorndorf, showing off her new necklace (a Diane C Taylor creation).

Tuesday: I was off again, this time to Heilbronn. Three years ago I spent the day with the sister (Carmen) and mom (Renate) of a friend (Iris) in Tucson. They are quite nice, so I thought I would stop through and say hello. I had seen them by Skype in Tacoma in August. They, along with Carmen’s husband, Lothar, picked me up. Carmen helped me mail a package of Softis, super paper tissues, to my cousin Sandy in Dallas. I just hope they got to her… Sounds stupid to send something like that, but you can blow your nose two or three times and not end up with a handful of snot, as you do with Kleenex and the US brands.

After that we sat outside and three of the four of us ate pizzas. It turned out to be much warmer than I thought it would be — it was my suggestion to sit outside. It felt about like Tucson. After lunch we visited the cafe on the house mountain, with a great view of Heilbronn. High point for me was Lothar’s arranging for me to have Carmen’s bottle. In Germany you pay a high deposit (25 cents for a plastic one) for bottles. Carmen got water in a very cool turquoise-colored glass bottle. Thanks to Lothar, this is now safely in my suitcase.

Heilbronn, on the "house mountain"

Heilbronn, on the “house mountain”


Then it was on to Coburg.

Comments are closed.
