Seichamps / Nancy, January 19, 2015

Today got off to a slow start. After breakfast Jacqueline made a galette, with a small amount of help from me (running the mixer). Then she and I went to the “Cora”, a gigantic grocery + everything store (think “Costco”, only well-lit, clean and not a warehouse), to buy some galettes for a meeting this evening.

The galette is a special sort of cake at this time of year. It contains an object. The person who finds the object in his/her piece gets a crown. I had one yesterday at lunch with the artists. The one we made had frangipane (almond paste/marzipan) in between the two layers of dough. The ones we bought had raspberry, apple, chocolate and almond paste in them (not all at the same time).

My new friend Renée took this photo Sunday during the artists' lunch. The man next to me is the husband of one of the women involved in framing and cartonnage. He spoke some English and some German as well as French.

My new friend Renée took this photo Sunday during the artists’ lunch. The man next to me is the husband of one of the women involved in framing and cartonnage. He spoke some English and some German as well as French.

Then it was home and lunch. We ate some of the galette, and somehow I got the object / crown again.

Jacqueline had a meeting in Nancy in the afternoon. I rode along and she dropped me at a streetcar/tram stop.

Office building near the St. Georges tram stop in Nancy

Office building near the St. Georges tram stop in Nancy

Restaurant that is across from the St. Georges tram stop in  Nancy -- English is everywhere.

Restaurant that is across from the St. Georges tram stop in Nancy — English is everywhere.

We just got a tram in Tucson. It has, in my (not-too-humble) opinion, some problems. One is the automat where you buy the ticket, so I was curious to see what the ones in Nancy were like. It took me some minutes to figure it out, though I had pushed the button for English (you can get instructions in French, English and two more languages). You tell the machine first what ticket you want, then advance a screen and it opens the coin slot if you’re paying cash. Once you’re on the tram, you need to validate the ticket. There are two different machines, one for multiple-trip tickets and one for single-trip tickets. A young woman kindly pointed me to the correct machine, hidden because of the number of people standing around it. The stations were meaningless, relative to the map I had, so I got off a little late. But it was OK, because I found Printemps and H&M.

Building in downtown Nancy, in the shopping area.

Building in downtown Nancy, in the shopping area.

Street in the shopping area of Nancy, with lights hanging down.

Street in the shopping area of Nancy, with lights hanging down. It must be pretty at night.

Then it was back to the shopping center we were in Friday, where I picked up a few things. I was supposed to meet her at Place de Vosges between 5 and 5:30. I took off, got there way too early and had a cup of coffee at a brasserie around the corner.

In the evening, she had another meeting, this one a political association. I didn’t understand much of what went on, but I had already met several of the people, so it was OK. I managed, with some difficulty, to stay awake. At the end we had galette and cider. This time I didn’t get the object.

At dinner André and Jacqueline whipped out their phones to check on the weather. André’s said snow, Jacqueline’s showed above freezing and OK for tomorrow. As we left the meeting, it was snowing a little…

Comments are closed.
