Seichamps – Tucson, January 21, 2015

It was an early morning to get me to the TGV Lorraine station for an 8:13 departure.

nowhere, the Gare Lorraine TGV. This photo was taken at 8 a.m.

In the middle of nowhere, the Gare Lorraine TGV. This photo was taken at 8 a.m.

This station is in the middle of nowhere, reachable only by car or by bus from either the train station at Nancy or at Metz. It’s about 45 minutes by car from Seichamps. The lighting inside the station was most probably fabricated at one of the glass places in the Lorraine.

The chandeliers in the Gare Lorraine TGV were most probably made at one of the glass places in Lorraine.

The chandeliers in the Gare Lorraine TGV were most probably made at one of the glass places in Lorraine.

I changed trains in Marne le Vallée, which I’d forgotten was the home of Disneyland Paris. The day was very overcast / foggy. The station is about 10 minutes from the airport. This time I didn’t sit down — once before, going from the airport to the Gare Lorraine, I sat down, forgetting that I had to change in 10 minutes. That time I ended up on the far side of Paris on a holiday. My friend was waiting for me at the station and was less than pleased when I called and explained what had happened, and I was several hours late.

Train station at Marne Le Vallée, 10 minutes from the airport and the gateway to Disneyland Paris.

Train station at Marne Le Vallée, 10 minutes from the airport and the gateway to Disneyland Paris.

Disneyland Paris, just steps away from the train station.

Disneyland Paris, just steps away from the train station.

Another familiar sight and site connected to Disneyland

Another familiar sight and site connected to Disneyland

Then it was on to Charles de Gaulle Airport in Paris. The flight to Atlanta was on Air France. It seemed to have a tad more legroom, the seats were a tad more comfortable. Lunch was spaetzle (not normally one of my favorites) with broccoli, potato salad, a roll that would have been better warmed, a tangerine, flan and a chunk of camembert. The alternate choice, chicken, was almost immediately out. No problem for me, but my seatmate was quite disappointed. It was weird, because we were in the front part of the serving area. Then we got ice cream on a stick. And the second meal was some kind of bread folded over three cheeses. No idea, but it was tasty. Also a small crème fraîche and fresh pineapple.

Arrival in Atlanta was fine. The machines worked well for scanning the passport and taking care of the agricultural questions (have you been on a farm? Do you have any farm products with you?). My suitcase was one of the last of hundreds, or so it seemed, to come out.

The continuation to Tucson was a Delta flight. It started with kerosene leaking in the right wing, so we were late taking off after that was repaired. We did make up the time, but the difference in equipment was noticeable. I was sitting on the aisle. A woman from Romania was in the middle, and a man was at the window. Every time the man moved, so did my seat. But at least we got back safely.

My friend Gertrud picked me up, and I was home by 11 p.m.

Comments are closed.
