Lots of Glass in Northern New Mexico – Taos

During April and May I received several emails from Blue Rain Gallery in Santa Fe, New Mexico, announcing an invitational glass show opening on June 5, 2015. Curator for the show is Preston Singletary, who shows at the gallery and whose work is very unique: blown glass and then carved, with Pacific Northwest themes. Of course, I had to go.

I left Wednesday, June 3, and spent the night in Las Cruces with friends. Bonnie is a super ceramics artist who makes her own tiles and then assembles them into mosaics. Her husband, Wall, is working on collages and assemblages these days, often with social statements. Thursday I went on to Santa Fe via Cedar Crest (where I renewed a friendship from 40 years ago with Denise) and Madrid, a mining town turned ghost town turned artist colony. The beauty of Santa Fe is my friend Judy, whom I met through an environmental group in the mid-1970s. I stay with her, so Santa Fe is affordable.

Friday I took off first to check out Taos, which I hadn’t seen for at least 40 years. I wanted to check out a gallery whose calls to artists sound interesting. In walking around on Kit Carson Road, I found the Copper Moon Gallery and a glass event whose call to artists by the Taos Institute for Glass Arts (TIGA) last year I missed. The gallery has some blown glass pieces by Tony Jojola (from the Heard Museum show in Phoenix) and fused pieces by Michelle Rial, who is also a member of the National Capital Art Glass Guild, along with some unique cast pieces by other artists. The gallery owner was very nice, but I didn’t think to ask to take photos. After a long conversation, she sent me to the David Anthony Fine Art / DAFA gallery, where she said I’d find a lot more glass.

DAFA / David Anthony Fine Art. 132 Kit Carson Road, is a relatively large gallery with some wonderful furniture and, thanks to this TIGA event, lots of glass. The gallery seems to represent a couple of glass artists, but had several more. Here are some shots:

Hiroshi Yamano,Japan, blown glass

Hiroshi Yamano, Japan, blown glass

Lachezar Dochev, Bulgaria, Urban Sites of Dreamland, kilncast

Lachezar Dochev, Bulgaria, Urban Sites of Dreamland, kilncast

David Helm - USA - Expression One

David Helm, USA, Expression One, cold worked and bonded

Sini Majuri, Finland, Tulilintu, blown glass

Sini Majuri, Finland, Tulilintu, blown glass

Peter Wright, USA, Blown Glass Battuto Jar 2 with furniture by David Mapes

Peter Wright, USA, Blown Glass Battuto Jar 2. Note the furniture by David Mapes in the background.

Linda Ethier, USA, If I Let You Out, cast/pate de verre/found object

Linda Ethier, USA, If I Let You Out, cast/pate de verre/found object

Herb Babcock, USA, Cool High Plane, cast glass/steel/stone

Herb Babcock, USA, Cool High Plane, cast glass/steel/stone

Jane Bruce, USA, Ribbon Blocks, kilnformed and cold-worked

Jane Bruce, USA, Ribbon Blocks, kilnformed and cold-worked

Gerry Newcomb, USA, Blue Spire, cast glass and steel

Gerry Newcomb, USA, Blue Spire, cast glass and steel

This artist appears to be a regular and not part of the TIGA event:

Marty Kremer, detail from Large Bowl, black with insets

Marty Kremer, detail from Large Bowl, black with insets

Comments are closed.
