European Jaunt – October 11 – 13, 2015

The reason for this trip, if I needed one, is the 20th anniversary of the institute I worked for in Bern, Switzerland, to take place Oct 22-23, 2015. Being too old for long weekends, I set out earlier.

This time the United flight from Tucson left me with 45 minutes to change planes enroute to Dulles airport and then Zurich. I couldn’t take the chance, so I flew from Phoenix, with just one change of plane. Rather than drive and park in Phoenix, I rode up on the shuttle. Rather than take the shuttle at 2:30 a.m., I went up on Oct. 10 and spent the night at the La Quinta hotel near the airport. All went well, except the hotel does NOT have a phone at the airport (or a toll-free number, for that matter). I waited 40 minutes for the hotel shuttle, because the driver had been sent on another errand. At least the 5 a.m. Shuttle, for my 7:20 flight, went well. (Sorry for odd capitalization. I’m trying to streamline and use an iPad. Apple has a worse idea.)

Phoenix is always a pain. United is in an old, small terminal, and getting my bag checked was somewhat chaotic, but it worked. Gate personnel tried to take away my carry-on bag because of lack of space. I insisted, and it turned out there was a lot of space in the overhead bins. I don’t know how the misinformation happened.

The flights were uneventful, my bag was there, I got my train ticket for Zurich airport to Karlsruhe, Germany, in record time and was off to the Zurich main station.

Fountain in underground at Zurich Main Train Station

Fountain in underground at Zurich Main Train Station

There I met my friend Kaisu, who lives in Wädenswil, and we took off for Coburg, Germany. First stop: Hotel The Square. Next stop: Rödental and the Europäisches Museum für Modernes Glas, my second visit and Kaisu’s first.

It’s an impressive little museum, and this time there might have been 10 visitors while we were there, not just two or three, like last year. The big disappointment was that the restaurant next door was closed on Mondays….

It's still a long walk to the museum.

It’s still a long walk to the museum.

A letter to the organization last year suggesting better directions for people not driving brought nothing. Apparently, during the week no buses run to the museum, which is a good half-hour hike. It seemed a lot shorter with a friend, of course.

Udo Zembok, Simultankontrast 2

Udo Zembok, Simultankontrast 2

Libensky + Brychtova, Cube in a Sphere

Libensky + Brychtova, Cube in a Sphere

 

John Zinner, Island Plate

John Zinner, Island Plate

 

Lázló Lukásci, Jewel (dichroic glass laminated + polished)

Lázló Lukásci, Jewel (dichroic glass laminated + polished) 

On the way back to the hotel I found this building with a nice stained glass window in it:

Stained glass window in a store in Coburg

Stained glass window in a store in Coburg 

I’m home now and can select and manipulate the hundreds of photos I took (according to the numbers of the photos.)

Comments are closed.
