Coburg / Stuttgart, Germany, October 15, 2015

Yesterday we passed through the Ehrenburg Castle in Coburg. Today we had an interesting hour-long tour through it.

Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

Ceiling in Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

Ceiling in Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

Salon in Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

Salon in Schloss Ehrenburg, Coburg

After a short visit to the gift shop of the Doll Museum and coffee and cake, we got a taxi and left for the 1:40 p.m. train. In the process of changing trains in Nurnberg, I managed to land more or less on my nose as I got off the train. It was pretty embarrassing, I and my two heavy suitcases sprawled on the platform. Fortunately, others helped me up, and we went on our way. After we got on the next train, though, Kaisu was doubled over, laughing.

The plan was to go together as far as Stuttgart, where I would get off and visit my friend Sylvia. Kaisu was to go on back to Zurich / Wädenswil.

When we approached Stuttgart, already a few minutes late, we got the announcement that, due to a medical emergency, the train would stop in Stuttgart, the Deutsche Bahn was very sorry, but there were no connections. Several other trains were stopped there, too. After several minutes of uncertainty, we got off the train, found Sylvia and Kaisu headed for a track marked for Zurich. Sylvia was able to get to a train official to be sure Kaisu’s ticket would work on that route, and she dashed off to find a spot on the train.

Sylvia and I wound our way through the construction zone that’s Stuttgart 21 to take the U-Bahn to her parked car and then on to her house outside Stuttgart.

She used to park near the Planetarium, where she works. The Planetarium used to be on the edge of a beautiful park. However, because of the project to build the new train station, all the trees in the park were chopped down and replaced by a construction site.

Kaisu sent messages later that she had gotten home OK. A large sigh of relief. I’ll see her again at the end of my trip, because her house is a straight shot to the airport.

Comments are closed.
