Day 8 – Seattle

Up early, so I can get in to Seattle by 10 to visit Pearl, a former colleague who now lives in Hawaii. She flew in last night to visit her son and his family in Seattle. Getting to her took an hour, once I was in Seattle — but I got to see a lot of new places and experience the underground bus, which is sort of like a subway, but it’s a bus.

She and son David dropped me at a bus stop so I could go to the Space Needle, which I have yet to see.
Space Needle
Inside the Seattle Center, a gallery of Northwest artists:
Fused glass fish in gallery in Seattle Center
I found the tile work on the Charlotte Martin Theatre interesting:
Charlotte Martin Theatre at Seattle Center
Some nice flowers (of the real type):
Snowball at the Seattle Center
Snowball at Seattle Center
And some nice flowers of the (Chihuly) glass kind:
Chihuly installation at the Seattle Center
Chihuly exhibit - 1
The flowers are nice; a visit to the exhibit is pretty expensive: around $19, so I looked from the outside.
Chihuly flowers in the ceiling
The EMP Museum (according to its website, “a leading-edge, nonprofit museum, dedicated to the ideas and risk-taking that fuel contemporary popular culture”), a huge, multi-colored, oddly shaped building:
EMP Museum
Across the street I found more glass in a Science Center garage:
Science Center garage with glass
Afterward, I wandered back toward the area I knew in downtown. Lots of buildings are decorated. Several warehouses on the way in from Tacoma are painted. Because I got out of the bus too early on this trip, I was able to take a photo:
Warehouse wall mural
As I wandered around, I found this mural on a German car repair shop:
Fat City mural on car repair shop
And some cool metal work on a building sign:
Metal sign on the Doyle Building
I passed along the Seattle Glassblowing Studio again.
Sign for the Seattle Glass Blowing Studio
Mushroom at Seattle Glass Blowing
Next stop: Vetri Glass to chat with Harlen and take a few more pictures, since I hadn’t posted any of its opening. I found Courtney Branam’s cubes cool:
Courtney Branam, Vetri Glass
And Mikey Cozza’s flowers and rain drops, too:
Mikey Cozza - Vetri Glass
Finally, back to Tacoma, to get my luggage and catch the bus to the airport. My last night was at the Ramada Inn on International Boulevard (there are three with phones at the airport).

Comments are closed.